English Premier League – Get To Know

The Premier League – Get To Know

The English Premier League (EPL) is the top tier league in English football.

Premier League teams play 38 games during each regular season, two against each of the other 19 teams in the EPL. There are no finals or playoffs at the end of the season’s schedule, with the side on the top of the ladder awarded the EPL championship trophy.

The three teams at the bottom of the Premier League ladder at the end of the season are relegated to the Championship, which is the league below the EPL. Alternately, the top two teams on the Championship ladder, along with the winner of a playoffs series involving the sides finishing 3rd to 6th, are promoted to the Premier League for the following season.

The top four sides on the EPL ladder qualify for the UEFA Champions League the following season with the top three gaining automatic qualification. The fourth-placed team must win a playoff round to gain qualification.

EPL History

The English Premier League started in 1992-93, with 22 clubs being involved in the inaugural season.

Promotion and relegation were a part of the EPL from its beginnings, with many of the clubs struggling to match the class of the Big Four – Chelsea, Arsenal, Manchester United and Liverpool.

The number of EPL teams was reduced to 20 in 1995, and that umber remains to this day. The EPL has the highest revenue and salaries of any football league in the world, with payments for the EPL in 2016-17 totaling £2,398,515,773 ($3,988,731,730.50 AUD), split across all 22 clubs.

There have been only six winners of the Premier League title, two of which have won just a single title (including Leicester with their magical run in the 2015-2016 season)

Fairytales do come true…

Ten fun facts about the Premier League

  1. 47 clubs have competed in the Premier League since its inception.
  2. Of those 47 club, only 6 have won titles with Manchester United having won more than half of the EPL titles.
  3. Arsenal are the only team to finish an EPL season undefeated, in 2003-04.
  4. The first ever EPL goal was scored by Brian Deane, who scored for Sheffield United in a 2-1 win over Manchester United;
  5. Arsenal have the most consecutive top 4 finishes with 20, a streak running from 1996-97 to 2015-16.
  6. Brighton and Hove Albion FC, and Huddersfield Town AFC will become teams 48 and 49 to play in the EPL in the 2017-18 season.
  7. Stoke City have spent 9 years in the EPL after being promoted from the Championship. The longest promotion run without relegation run in the Premier League.
  8. Old Trafford, the home ground of Manchester United, has the Premier League’s largest capacity at 75,957 people.
  9. Manchester United legend Ryan Giggs hold the EPL games record, having appeared in 632 games.
  10. Former Blackburn Rovers and Newcastle United legend Alan Shearer holds the EPL goal scoring record, having found the back of the net on 260 occasions. Shearer is 62 goals ahead of today’s top-scoring player, Everton and Man United star, Wayne Rooney.

EPL Bet Types

There are plenty of EPL betting options available for punters, with the competition one of the most popular to bet on anywhere in the world.

The most simple bet involves three results – the two opposing teams winning, or the game finishing in a draw (know as a W-D-W bet). Punters can also bet on the Line, where the underdog is given a head start in the match scoring.

Punters can also bet on the exact game score, a bet type which can net a very handy profit.

Betting is also available on the game finishing in a draw or not finishing in a draw; with this bet type, the bettor simply selects whether there will be a winning result for either team.

The largest market is the Futures Market, where the bettor selects who will be the EPL champion come season’s end.

Past 5 Premier League Winners

2016/17 – Chelsea won the Premier League, dominating the season to finish on 93 points, 7 points clear of 2nd placed Tottenham.

While Tottenham lost fewer games than Chelsea, the eventual title winners tallied 30 wins, 4 more than the runners-up.

Hull City, Middlesbrough and Sunderland were relegated.

Harry Kane from Tottenham led the EPL goal scoring with 29 goals.

2015/16 – Leicester City were 5000/1 for the title with bookmakers before the season, and were among the favourites for relegation.

They shocked the world and created one of the biggest fairytales in sporting history when they held aloft the trophy with a dominant season, finishing 10 points clear of Arsenal.

The Foxes lost just 3 matches all season, with Harry Kane from Tottenham leading all EPL scorers with 25 goals.

2014/15 – Chelsea sealed the title with 3 games to play, 8 points ahead of 2nd placed Manchester City. The Blues won the title on the back of an elite defence that conceded just 32 goals and conceded just 3 games.

Chelsea were unbeaten at home, drew on 4 occasions and won the other 15 games outright, conceding just 9 goals in 19 games.

Manchester City scored 46 goals at home and 83 goals total, led by the EPL’s leading goal scorer Sergio Aguero.

2013/14 – Manchester City pounced on Liverpool’s late season collapse. The Reds had a loss and a draw in their last 3 games while Man City won their last 3 games.

Both sides played elite attacking football, scoring 102 and 101 goals respectively.

Manchester City scored at least 4 goals on 9 occasions, while Liverpool did so 8 times.

Chelsea saw a 77-game unbeaten streak at home come to an end, while Liverpool’s Luis Suarez scored 31 goals to win the goal scoring title from teammate Daniel Sturridge.

2012/13 – Manchester United dominated the season, sealing the title with 5 games remaining and pulling 11 points clear of rivals Manchester City.

United scored 86 goals on the back of Robin Van Persie who scored a league-high 26 goals.

Wigan Athletic were the first team to win the FA Cup and be relegated from the EPL in the same season, joined by Queens Park Rangers and Reading.

7th placed Liverpool finished 12 points clear of 8th placed West Bromwich Albion, showing a gaping chasm in class between the best 7 teams and the rest of the league.

View all EPL Title winners

Past 5 EPL player of the year winners

2016/17 – N’Golo Kante (Chelsea), who surprisingly did not win the player of the month award once (Son Heung-Min from Tottenham won the award twice.

2015/16 – Jamie Vardy (Leicester City), one of two players to win the player of the month award twice (the other was Sergio Aguero).

2014/15 – Eden Hazard (Chelsea), who scored 14 goals.

2013/14 – Luis Suarez (Liverpool), who scored 31 goals and scored three hat-tricks.

2012/13 – Gareth Bale (Tottenham Hotspur), who scored 21 goals including a hat-trick.

View all Premier League Player of the Year winners

View EPL Golden Boot Winners

Most Premier League Titles

Only 6 teams have won the Premier League title.

Manchester United have won the title on 13 occasions, while Chelsea are 2nd in line with 5 titles. Arsenal have on 3 times, Manchester City twice and Blackburn Rovers and Leicester City have won the title once each. United have won the title 3 times in a row, on 2 separate occasions and their current four-season title drought is their longest-ever duration without aPremier League title.