Super Rugby Champions

Super Rugby

Super Rugby is the premier professional men’s rugby union league in the southern hemisphere.

The league was first known as Super 12 (1996-2005) with twelve teams from Australia, New Zealand and South Africa. The name was then changed to Super 14 (2006-2010) after the addition of two teams, with a further team being dded for the 2011 season when the league was renamed ‘Super Rugby’.

In 2016, two new teams were added, the Sunwolves from Japan and the Jaguares fro Argentina.

The Super Rugby Finals have followed various formats since the beginnings, however the Finals now have eight teams with each conference winner getting a home quarter final. They are joined by four wild card teams, three from the Australasian group and one from the South African group.

Dan Carter has scored the most points in the Super Rugby (Super 12, Super 14) formats with 1,708 points, all for the Crusaders.

Top 5 Super Rugby Hitmen

List of Super Rugby Champions

Below is a list of Super Rugby Champions including scores and runners-up.

Year Winner Score Runner-up
1996 Blues 45–21 Sharks
1997 Blues 23–7 Brumbies
1998 Crusaders 20–13 Blues
1999 Crusaders 24–19 Highlanders
2000 Crusaders 20–19 Brumbies
2001 Brumbies 36–6 Sharks
2002 Crusaders 31–13 Brumbies
2003 Blues 21–17 Crusaders
2004 Brumbies 47–38 Crusaders
2005 Crusaders 35–25 Waratahs
2006 Crusaders 19–12 Hurricanes
2007 Bulls 20–19 Sharks
2008 Crusaders 20–12 Waratahs
2009 Bulls 61–17 Chiefs
2010 Bulls 25–17 Stormers
2011 Reds 18–13 Crusaders
2012 Chiefs 37–6 Sharks
2013 Chiefs 27–22 Brumbies
2014 Waratahs 33–32 Crusaders
2015 Highlanders 21–14 Hurricanes
2016 Hurricanes 20–3 Lions