Rugby Sevens World Cup Winners

Rugby Sevens World Cup

The Rugby Sevens World Cup is the premier Rugby Sevens competition, and is organised and held by the sport’s governing body, World Rugby.

The tournament is contested every four years as per ‘World Cup’ standards. The tournament was first held in 1993 in Scotland, the birthplace of the game itself.

The Melrose Cup is awarded to the winning nation, with the trophy named after the town of Melrose in Scotland where the game was first played.

Fiji and New Zealand have won the tournament twice, with England and Wales taking home the trophy once each.

In 2009, after the inclusion of Rugby Sevens at the Olympic Games was announced, the International Rugby Board (IRB, now World Rugby) stated their intention to end the World Cup Sevens so that the Olympic Games would be the premier Rugby Sevens tournament. However, after further thought the IRB announced that the World Cup would remain, and integrated into the Olympic calendar, meaning that an elite level Rugby Sevens tournament would take place every two years from 2016.

Rugby Sevens World Cup Winners

Below is a list of Rugby Sevens World Cup winners, runners-up, Finals scores, and host nations.

Year Winner Score Runner-up Host
1993 England 21–17 Australia Edinburgh, Scotland
1997 Fiji 24–21 South Africa Hong Kong
2001 New Zealand 31–12 Australia Mar del Plata, Argentina
2005 Fiji 29–19 New Zealand Hong Kong
2009 Wales 19–12 Argentina Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2013 New Zealand 33–0 England Moscow, Russia
2018 TBD TBD TBD San Jose and San Francisco, USA

Rugby Sevens World Cup – Players of the Tournament

Below is a list of Rugby Sevens Players of the Tournament

Year Winner Player
1993 England Lawrence Dallaglio
1997 Fiji Waisale Serevi
2001 New Zealand Jonah Lomu
2005 Fiji Waisale Serevi
2009 Wales Tal Selley
2013 New Zealand Tim Mikkelson