Heisman Trophy Winners

oj simpson heisman photo

Heisman Trophy Winners List

The Heisman Trophy is the highest individual honour given in NCAA College Football.

It has been awarded 81 times, to 79 different players since 1936, with the only two-time winner being Archie Griffin from Ohio State in 1974 and 1975.

The Heisman Trophy is awarded annually to the most outstanding college football player in the NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS), and is awarded by the Heisman Trust, successors of the awards from the Downtown Athletic Club.

How is the Heisman Trophy Voted For?

In terms of voting, the 50 states of the U.S.A are split into 6 regions (Far West, Mid Atlantic, Mid West, North East, South, South West), and 6 regional representatives are selected to appoint voters in their states.

Each region has 145 media votes, for a total of 870 votes. In addition to this, all previous Heisman Trophy award winners may vote, and 1 final vote is counted through a public ballot.

The Heisman ballot is a 3-2-1 points system. The points are tallied, and the player with the highest total of points across all ballots wins the Heisman Trophy.

Heisman Trophy Winners List Year By Year 

Below is a list of Heisman Trophy Winners including their college, the NCAAF Champion of that year and the era of the Championship.

Year Era #1 Team Heisman Trophy Winner Heisman College
2017 CFP Clemson Baker Mayfield (QB) Oklahoma
2016 CFP Clemson Lamar Jackson (QB) Louisville
2015 CFP Alabama Derrick Henry (RB) Alabama
2014 CFP Ohio State Marcus Mariota (QB) Oregon
2013 BCS Florida State Jameis Winston (QB) Florida State
2012 BCS Alabama Johnny Manziel (QB) Texas A&M
2011 BCS Alabama Robert Griffin III (QB) Baylor
2010 BCS Auburn Cam Newton (QB) Auburn
2009 BCS Alabama Mark Ingram (RB) Alabama
2008 BCS Florida Sam Bradford (QB) Oklahoma
2007 BCS LSU Tim Tebow (QB) Florida
2006 BCS Florida Troy Smith (QB) Ohio State
2005 BCS Texas Reggie Bush (RB) USC
2004 BCS USC Matt Leinart (QB) USC
2003 BCS USC Jason White (QB) Oklahoma
2002 BCS Ohio State Carson Palmer (QB) USC
2001 BCS Miami (Fla.) Eric Crouch (QB) University of Nebraska
2000 BCS Oklahoma Chris Weinke (QB) Florida State
1999 BCS Florida State Ron Dayne (RB) Wisconsin
1998 BCS Tennessee Ricky Williams (RB) Texas
1997 AP Poll Michigan Charles Woodson (CB) Michigan
1996 AP Poll Florida Danny Wuerffel (QB) Florida
1995 AP Poll Nebraska Eddie George (RB) Ohio State
1994 AP Poll Nebraska Rashaan Salaam (RB) Colorado
1993 AP Poll Florida State Charlie Ward (QB) Florida State
1992 AP Poll Alabama Gino Torretta (QB) Miami
1991 AP Poll Miami (FL) Desmond Howard (WR) Michigan
1990 AP Poll Colorado Ty Detmer (QB) Brigham Young
1989 AP Poll Miami (Fla.) Andre Ware (QB) Houston
1988 AP Poll Notre Dame Barry Sanders (RB) Oklahoma State
1987 AP Poll Miami (Fla.) Tim Brown (WR) Notre Dame
1986 AP Poll Penn State Vinny Testaverde (QB) Miami
1985 AP Poll Oklahoma Bo Jackson (RB) Auburn
1984 AP Poll Brigham Young Doug Flutie Boston College
1983 AP Poll Miami (Fla.) Mike Rozier Nebraska
1982 AP Poll Penn State Herschel Walker Georgia
1981 AP Poll Clemson Marcus Allen USC
1980 AP Poll Georgia George Rogers South Carolina
1979 AP Poll Alabama Charles White USC
1978 AP Poll Alabama Billy Sims Oklahoma
1977 AP Poll Notre Dame Earl Campbell Texas
1976 AP Poll Pittsburgh Tony Dorsett Pittsburgh
1975 AP Poll Oklahoma Archie Griffin Ohio State
1974 AP Poll Oklahoma Archie Griffin Ohio State
1973 AP Poll Notre Dame John Cappelletti Penn State
1972 AP Poll USC Johnny Rodgers Nebraska
1971 AP Poll Nebraska Pat Sullivan Auburn
1970 AP Poll Texas and Nebraska Jim Plunkett Stanford
1969 AP Poll Texas Steve Owens Oklahoma
1968 AP Poll Ohio State O. J. Simpson USC
1967 AP Poll USC Gary Beban UCLA
1966 AP Poll Notre Dame Steve Spurrier Florida
1965 AP Poll Alabama and Michigan State Mike Garrett USC
1964 AP Poll Alabama John Huarte Notre Dame
1963 AP Poll Texas Roger Staubach Navy
1962 AP Poll USC Terry Baker Oregon State
1961 AP Poll Alabama Ernie Davis Syracuse
1960 AP Poll Minnesota Joe Bellino Navy
1959 AP Poll Syracuse Billy Cannon Louisiana State
1958 AP Poll Louisiana State Pete Dawkins Army
1957 AP Poll Auburn and Ohio State John Crow Texas A & M
1956 AP Poll Oklahoma Paul Hornung Notre Dame
1955 AP Poll Oklahoma Howard Cassady Ohio State
1954 AP Poll Ohio State and UCLA Alan Ameche Wisconsin
1953 AP Poll Maryland Johnny Lattner Notre Dame
1952 AP Poll Michigan State Billy Vessels Oklahoma
1951 AP Poll Tennessee Dick Kazmaier Princeton
1950 AP Poll Oklahoma Vic Janowicz Ohio State
1949 AP Poll Notre Dame Leon Hart Notre Dame
1948 AP Poll Michigan Doak Walker Southern Methodist
1947 AP Poll Notre Dame Johnny Lujack Notre Dame
1946 AP Poll Notre Dame Glenn Davis Army
1945 AP Poll Army Felix Blanchard Army
1944 AP Poll Army Leslie Horvath Ohio State
1943 AP Poll Notre Dame Angelo Bertelli Notre Dame
1942 AP Poll Ohio State Frank Sinkwich Georgia
1941 AP Poll Minnesota Bruce Smith Minnesota
1940 AP Poll Minnesota Tom Harmon Michigan
1939 AP Poll Texas A & M Nile Kinnick Iowa
1938 AP Poll Texas Christian Davey O’Brien Texas Christian
1937 AP Poll Pittsburgh Clinton Frank Yale
1936 AP Poll Minnesota Larry Kelley Yale