Naismith College Player Of The Year

Naismith College Player Of The Year Award

The Naismith College Player of the Year Award is presented by the Atlanta Tipoff Club to the most outstanding Men’s and Women’s College players each year.

The award is named after the inventor of basketball, Dr James Naismith, and was first awarded in 1969.

Duke has the most winners with 7.

The award has been won by a freshman on two occasions –  

  • Kevin Durant of Texas in 2007
  • Anthony Davis of Kentucky in 2012

How is the Naismith College Player of the Year Selected?

Prior to the start of each college season, a “Watch List” of 50 players is chosen by the Atlanta Tipoff Club board of selectors, which is comprise of head coaches, administrators and media members from the USA.

By February, the list of players is narrowed down to 30 based on performance.

In March, 4 out of the 30 nominated players are selected as finalists and placed in the final ballot. The winners are awarded the Naismith College Player of The Year Award in April by the board of selectors and fan voting via text messaging.

Naismith College Player Of The Year Winners

Below is a list of Naismith College Player Of The Year winners by year including positions, class, years and college.

Year Player College Position Class
2017 Frank Mason III Kansas Guard Senior
2016 Buddy Hield Oklahoma Guard Senior
2015 Frank Kaminsky Wisconsin Forward Senior
2014 Doug McDermott Creighton Forward Senior
2013 Trey Burke Michigan Guard Sophomore
2012 Anthony Davis Kentucky Center Freshman
2011 Jimmer Fredette Brigham Young Guard Senior
2010 Evan Turner Ohio State Guard Junior
2009 Blake Griffin Oklahoma Forward Sophomore
2008 Tyler Hansbrough North Carolina Forward Junior
2007 Kevin Durant Texas Forward Freshman
2006 J. J. Redick Duke Guard Senior
2005 Andrew Bogut Utah Center Sophomore
2004 Jameer Nelson Saint Joseph’s Guard Senior
2003 T. J. Ford Texas Guard Sophomore
2002 Jason Williams Duke Guard Junior
2001 Shane Battier Duke Forward Senior
2000 Kenyon Martin Cincinnati Forward Senior
1999 Elton Brand Duke Forward Sophomore
1998 Antawn Jamison North Carolina Forward Junior
1997 Tim Duncan Wake Forest Center Senior
1996 Marcus Camby Massachusetts Center Junior
1995 Joe Smith Maryland Forward Sophomore
1994 Glenn Robinson Purdue Forward Junior
1993 Calbert Cheaney Indiana Guard Senior
1992 Christian Laettner Duke Forward Senior
1991 Larry Johnson UNLV Forward Senior
1990 Lionel Simmons La Salle Forward Senior
1989 Danny Ferry Duke Forward Senior
1988 Danny Manning Kansas Forward Senior
1987 David Robinson Navy Center Senior
1986 Johnny Dawkins Duke Guard Senior
1985 Patrick Ewing Georgetown Center Senior
1984 Michael Jordan North Carolina Guard Junior
1983 Ralph Sampson Virginia Center Senior
1982 Ralph Sampson Virginia Center Junior
1981 Ralph Sampson Virginia Center Sophomore
1980 Mark Aguirre DePaul Forward Sophomore
1979 Larry Bird Indiana State Forward Senior
1978 Butch Lee Marquette Guard Senior
1977 Marques Johnson UCLA Forward Senior
1976 Scott May Indiana Forward Senior
1975 David Thompson N.C. State Guard Junior
1974 Bill Walton UCLA Center Senior
1973 Bill Walton UCLA Center Junior
1972 Bill Walton UCLA Center Sophomore
1971 Austin Carr Notre Dame Guard Senior
1970 Pete Maravich LSU Guard Senior
1969 Lew Alcindor UCLA Center Senior