Monaco F1 Grand Prix Winners

Monaco Grand Prix

Want go celebrity watching? The Monaco Grand Prix is your place to be. The Monaco Grand Prix is the glamour event of the F1 Racing calendar, run on the tight-turning, narrow, often congested Monaco track since 1929.

The Monaco circuit has been labelled “an exceptional location of glamour and prestige”.

There are many elevation changes on the Monaco circuit and it’s considered one of the most dangerous tracks on the F1 schdeule despite low speeds. It’s the only Grand Prix that does no adhere to the FIA’s 305km minimum race distance.

One of the great head to head rivalries in Formula 1 involved Ayrton Senna and Alain Prost, who dominated the race from 1984 to 1993, being the only drivers to win the race during this time. If you have a spare hour or two, do yourself a favour and watch the documentary “Senna” which shows the brilliance of the man.

The most Monaco Grand Prix titles is held by Senna with six.

An insane lap around Monaco with Ayrton Senna

Monaco Grand Prix Winners

Below is a list of Monaco Formula One Grand Prix winners including drivers and constructors.

Year Driver Constructor
2017 Germany Sebastian Vettel Ferrari
2016 United Kingdom Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
2015 Germany Nico Rosberg Mercedes
2014 Germany Nico Rosberg Mercedes
2013 Germany Nico Rosberg Mercedes
2012 Australia Mark Webber Red Bull-Renault
2011 Germany Sebastian Vettel Red Bull-Renault
2010 Australia Mark Webber Red Bull-Renault
2009 United Kingdom Jenson Button Brawn-Mercedes
2008 United Kingdom Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes
2007 Spain Fernando Alonso McLaren-Mercedes
2006 Spain Fernando Alonso Renault
2005 Finland Kimi Räikkönen McLaren-Mercedes
2004 Italy Jarno Trulli Renault
2003 Colombia Juan Pablo Montoya Williams-BMW
2002 United Kingdom David Coulthard McLaren-Mercedes
2001 Germany Michael Schumacher Ferrari
2000 United Kingdom David Coulthard McLaren-Mercedes
1999 Germany Michael Schumacher Ferrari
1998 Finland Mika Häkkinen McLaren-Mercedes
1997 Germany Michael Schumacher Ferrari
1996 France Olivier Panis Ligier-Mugen-Honda
1995 Germany Michael Schumacher Benetton-Renault
1994 Germany Michael Schumacher Benetton-Ford
1993 Brazil Ayrton Senna McLaren-Ford
1992 Brazil Ayrton Senna McLaren-Honda
1991 Brazil Ayrton Senna McLaren-Honda
1990 Brazil Ayrton Senna McLaren-Honda
1989 Brazil Ayrton Senna McLaren-Honda
1988 France Alain Prost McLaren-Honda
1987 Brazil Ayrton Senna Lotus-Honda
1986 France Alain Prost McLaren-TAG
1985 France Alain Prost McLaren-TAG
1984 France Alain Prost McLaren-TAG
1983 Finland Keke Rosberg Williams-Ford
1982 Italy Riccardo Patrese Brabham-Ford
1981 Canada Gilles Villeneuve Ferrari
1980 Argentina Carlos Reutemann Williams-Ford
1979 South Africa Jody Scheckter Ferrari
1978 France Patrick Depailler Tyrrell-Ford
1977 South Africa Jody Scheckter Wolf-Ford
1976 Austria Niki Lauda Ferrari
1975 Austria Niki Lauda Ferrari
1974 Sweden Ronnie Peterson Lotus-Ford
1973 United Kingdom Jackie Stewart Tyrrell-Ford
1972 France Jean-Pierre Beltoise BRM
1971 United Kingdom Jackie Stewart Tyrrell-Ford
1970 Austria Jochen Rindt Lotus-Ford
1969 United Kingdom Graham Hill Lotus-Ford
1968 United Kingdom Graham Hill Lotus-Ford
1967 New Zealand Denny Hulme Brabham-Repco
1966 United Kingdom Jackie Stewart BRM
1965 United Kingdom Graham Hill BRM
1964 United Kingdom Graham Hill BRM
1963 United Kingdom Graham Hill BRM
1962 New Zealand Bruce McLaren Cooper-Climax
1961 United Kingdom Stirling Moss Lotus-Climax
1960 United Kingdom Stirling Moss Lotus-Climax
1959 Australia Jack Brabham Cooper-Climax
1958 France Maurice Trintignant Cooper-Climax
1957 Argentina Juan Manuel Fangio Maserati
1956 United Kingdom Stirling Moss Maserati
1955 France Maurice Trintignant Ferrari

Not held
1952 Italy Vittorio Marzotto Ferrari
1951 Not held
1950 Argentina Juan Manuel Fangio Alfa Romeo
1949 Not held
1948 Italy Giuseppe Farina Maserati

Not held
1937 Nazi Germany Manfred von Brauchitsch Mercedes
1936 Nazi Germany Rudolf Caracciola Mercedes
1935 Italy Luigi Fagioli Mercedes
1934 France Guy Moll Alfa Romeo
1933 Italy Achille Varzi Bugatti
1932 Italy Tazio Nuvolari Alfa Romeo
1931 Monaco Louis Chiron Bugatti
1930 France René Dreyfus Bugatti
1929 United Kingdom William Grover-Williams Bugatti

Multiple Winners of the Monaco Grand Prix

No. Wins Driver Titles
6 Brazil Ayrton Senna 1987, 1989, 1990, 1991, 1992, 1993
5 United Kingdom Graham Hill 1963, 1964, 1965, 1968, 1969
Germany Michael Schumacher 1994, 1995, 1997, 1999, 2001
4 France Alain Prost 1984, 1985, 1986, 1988
3 United Kingdom Stirling Moss 1956, 1960, 1961
United Kingdom Jackie Stewart 1966, 1971, 1973
Germany Nico Rosberg 2013, 2014, 2015
2 Argentina Juan Manuel Fangio 1950, 1957
France Maurice Trintignant 1955, 1958
Austria Niki Lauda 1975, 1976
South Africa Jody Scheckter 1977, 1979
United Kingdom David Coulthard 2000, 2002
Spain Fernando Alonso 2006, 2007
United Kingdom Lewis Hamilton 2008, 2016
Australia Mark Webber 2010, 2012
Germany Sebastian Vettel 2011, 2017