Italian F1 Grand Prix Winners

Italian Grand Prix 

The Italian Grand Prix is one of the oldest Formula One events on the racing calendar.

The Italian GP was one of the inaugural F1 Championship races in 1950 and has been held every year since then.

Each and every Italian Formula One Grand Prix has been held at Monza Road Circuit, aside from 1980, where it was held at Imola. The Italian GP is a classy affair, and if you’re looking for a celebrity or two on the sidelines during a sporting event, this is the place to be. Drink, betting and some pea-cocking is sure to be on the cards at this A-Lister.

Italian Grand Prix Winners

Below is a list of Italian Grand Prix winners including years, drivers, constructors and location of the track.

Year Driver Constructor Location
2016 Germany Nico Rosberg Mercedes Monza Road Circuit
2015 United Kingdom Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
2014 United Kingdom Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
2013 Germany Sebastian Vettel Red Bull-Renault
2012 United Kingdom Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes
2011 Germany Sebastian Vettel Red Bull-Renault
2010 Spain Fernando Alonso Ferrari
2009 Brazil Rubens Barrichello Brawn-Mercedes
2008 Germany Sebastian Vettel Toro Rosso-Ferrari
2007 Spain Fernando Alonso McLaren-Mercedes
2006 Germany Michael Schumacher Ferrari
2005 Colombia Juan Pablo Montoya McLaren-Mercedes
2004 Brazil Rubens Barrichello Ferrari
2003 Germany Michael Schumacher Ferrari
2002 Brazil Rubens Barrichello Ferrari
2001 Colombia Juan Pablo Montoya Williams-BMW
2000 Germany Michael Schumacher Ferrari
1999 Germany Heinz-Harald Frentzen Jordan-Mugen-Honda
1998 Germany Michael Schumacher Ferrari
1997 United Kingdom David Coulthard McLaren-Mercedes
1996 Germany Michael Schumacher Ferrari
1995 United Kingdom Johnny Herbert Benetton-Renault
1994 United Kingdom Damon Hill Williams-Renault
1993 United Kingdom Damon Hill Williams-Renault
1992 Brazil Ayrton Senna McLaren-Honda
1991 United Kingdom Nigel Mansell Williams-Renault
1990 Brazil Ayrton Senna McLaren-Honda
1989 France Alain Prost McLaren-Honda
1988 Austria Gerhard Berger Ferrari
1987 Brazil Nelson Piquet Williams-Honda
1986 Brazil Nelson Piquet Williams-Honda
1985 France Alain Prost McLaren-TAG
1984 Austria Niki Lauda McLaren-TAG
1983 Brazil Nelson Piquet Brabham-BMW
1982 France René Arnoux Renault
1981 France Alain Prost Renault
1980 Brazil Nelson Piquet Brabham-Ford Imola
1979 South Africa Jody Scheckter Ferrari Monza Road Circuit
1978 Austria Niki Lauda Brabham-Alfa Romeo
1977 United States Mario Andretti Lotus-Ford
1976 Sweden Ronnie Peterson March-Ford
1975 Switzerland Clay Regazzoni Ferrari
1974 Sweden Ronnie Peterson Lotus-Ford
1973 Sweden Ronnie Peterson Lotus-Ford
1972 Brazil Emerson Fittipaldi Lotus-Ford
1971 United Kingdom Peter Gethin BRM
1970 Switzerland Clay Regazzoni Ferrari
1969 United Kingdom Jackie Stewart Matra-Ford
1968 New Zealand Denny Hulme McLaren-Ford
1967 United Kingdom John Surtees Honda
1966 Italy Ludovico Scarfiotti Ferrari
1965 United Kingdom Jackie Stewart BRM
1964 United Kingdom John Surtees Ferrari
1963 United Kingdom Jim Clark Lotus-Climax
1962 United Kingdom Graham Hill BRM
1961 United States Phil Hill Ferrari Monza Full Circuit
1960 United States Phil Hill Ferrari
1959 United Kingdom Stirling Moss Cooper-Climax Monza Road Circuit
1958 United Kingdom Tony Brooks Vanwall
1957 United Kingdom Stirling Moss Vanwall
1956 United Kingdom Stirling Moss Maserati Monza Full Circuit
1955 Argentina Juan Manuel Fangio Mercedes
1954 Argentina Juan Manuel Fangio Mercedes Monza Road Circuit
1953 Argentina Juan Manuel Fangio Maserati
1952 Italy Alberto Ascari Ferrari
1951 Italy Alberto Ascari Ferrari
1950 Italy Giuseppe Farina Alfa Romeo
1949 Italy Alberto Ascari Ferrari Monza Road Circuit
1948 France Jean-Pierre Wimille Alfa Romeo Valentino Park
1947 Italy Carlo Felice Trossi Alfa Romeo Milan

Not held
1938 Italy Tazio Nuvolari Auto Union Monza Florio Circuit
1937 Germany Rudolf Caracciola Mercedes-Benz Livorno
1936 Germany Bernd Rosemeyer Auto Union Monza Florio Circuit
1935 Germany Hans Stuck Auto Union
1934 Italy Luigi Fagioli
Germany Rudolf Caracciola
Mercedes-Benz Monza Florio Circuit
1933 Italy Luigi Fagioli Alfa Romeo Monza Full Circuit
1932 Italy Tazio Nuvolari Alfa Romeo Monza Full Circuit
1931 Italy Giuseppe Campari
Italy Tazio Nuvolari
Alfa Romeo

Not held
1928 Monaco Louis Chiron Bugatti Monza Full Circuit
1927 France Robert Benoist Delage
1926 France Louis Charavel Bugatti
1925 Italy Gastone Brilli-Peri Alfa Romeo
1924 Italy Antonio Ascari Alfa Romeo
1923 Italy Carlo Salamano Fiat
1922 Italy Pietro Bordino Fiat
1921 France Jules Goux Ballot Brescia

Multiple Italian Grand Prix Winners

Below is a list of drivers who have had the most Italian Grand Prix wins.

No. Wins Driver Years
5 Germany Michael Schumacher 1996, 1998, 2000, 2003, 2006
4 Brazil Nelson Piquet 1980, 1983, 1986, 1987
3 Italy Tazio Nuvolari 1931, 1932, 1938
Italy Alberto Ascari 1949, 1951, 1952
Argentina Juan Manuel Fangio 1953, 1954, 1955
United Kingdom Stirling Moss 1956, 1957, 1959
Sweden Ronnie Peterson 1973, 1974, 1976
France Alain Prost 1981, 1985, 1989
Brazil Rubens Barrichello 2002, 2004, 2009
Germany Sebastian Vettel 2008, 2011, 2013
United Kingdom Lewis Hamilton 2012, 2014, 2015
2 Italy Luigi Fagioli 1933, 1934
Germany Rudolf Caracciola 1934, 1937
United States Phil Hill 1960, 1961
United Kingdom John Surtees 1964, 1967
United Kingdom Jackie Stewart 1965, 1969
Switzerland Clay Regazzoni 1970, 1975
Austria Niki Lauda 1978, 1984
Brazil Ayrton Senna 1990, 1992
United Kingdom Damon Hill 1993, 1994
Colombia Juan Pablo Montoya 2001, 2005
Spain Fernando Alonso 2007, 2010