Australian F1 Grand Prix Winners

Australian Grand Prix

The Australian Grand Prix is held annually, and is currently under contract to run until 2023. 

Th Australian Grand Prix is the longest running motor racing event in Australia, having run 79 times since it’s first go-around in 1928. It officially became a part of the Formula One World Championship in 1985, being first held at the Adelaide Street Circuit until 1996, before being moved to Melbourne.

The winner of the Australian Grand Prix is presented with the Jack Brabham Trophy, named after the former three time winner.

The Australian Grand Prix is the first round of the the F1 Championship.

Let’s take a lap around the track, with Lewis Hamilton…

Australian F1 Grand Prix Winners

Below is a list of Australian Formula One Grand Prix winners including drivers, car manufacturers and tracks.

Year Driver Car Location
2017 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari Albert Park
2016 Nico Rosberg Mercedes Albert Park
2015 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes Albert Park
2014 Nico Rosberg Mercedes Albert Park
2013 Kimi Räikkönen Lotus-Renault Albert Park
2012 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes Albert Park
2011 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull-Renault Albert Park
2010 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes Albert Park
2009 Jenson Button Brawn-Mercedes Albert Park
2008 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes Albert Park
2007 Kimi Räikkönen Ferrari Albert Park
2006 Fernando Alonso Renault Albert Park
2005 Giancarlo Fisichella Renault Albert Park
2004 Michael Schumacher Ferrari Albert Park
2003 David Coulthard McLaren-Mercedes Albert Park
2002 Michael Schumacher Ferrari Albert Park
2001 Michael Schumacher Ferrari Albert Park
2000 Michael Schumacher Ferrari Albert Park
1999 Eddie Irvine Ferrari Albert Park
1998 Mika Häkkinen McLaren-Mercedes Albert Park
1997 David Coulthard McLaren-Mercedes Albert Park
1996 Damon Hill Williams-Renault Albert Park
1995 Damon Hill Williams-Renault Adelaide
1994 Nigel Mansell Williams-Renault Adelaide
1993 Ayrton Senna McLaren-Ford Adelaide
1992 Gerhard Berger McLaren-Honda Adelaide
1991 Ayrton Senna McLaren-Honda Adelaide
1990 Nelson Piquet Benetton-Ford Adelaide
1989 Thierry Boutsen Williams-Renault Adelaide
1988 Alain Prost McLaren-Honda Adelaide
1987 Gerhard Berger Ferrari Adelaide
1986 Alain Prost McLaren-TAG Adelaide
1985 Keke Rosberg Williams-Honda Adelaide
1984 Roberto Moreno Ralt-Ford Calder
1983 Roberto Moreno Ralt-Ford Calder
1982 Alain Prost Ralt-Ford Calder
1981 Roberto Moreno Ralt-Ford Calder
1980 Alan Jones Williams-Cosworth Calder
1979 Johnnie Walker Lola-Chevrolet Wanneroo
1978 Graham McRae McRae-Chevrolet Sandown
1977 Warwick Brown Lola-Chevrolet Oran Park
1976 John Goss Matich-Repco/Holden Sandown
1975 Max Stewart Lola-Chevrolet Surfers Paradise
1974 Max Stewart Lola-Chevrolet Oran Park
1973 Graham McRae McRae-Chevrolet Sandown
1972 Graham McRae Leda-Chevrolet Sandown
1971 Frank Matich Matich-Repco/Holden Warwick Farm
1970 Frank Matich McLaren-Repco/Holden Warwick Farm
1969 Chris Amon Ferrari Lakeside
1968 Jim Clark Lotus-Cosworth Sandown
1967 Jackie Stewart BRM Warwick Farm
1966 Graham Hill BRM Lakeside
1965 Bruce McLaren Cooper-Climax Longford
1964 Jack Brabham Brabham-Climax Sandown
1963 Jack Brabham Brabham-Climax Warwick Farm
1962 Bruce McLaren Cooper-Climax Caversham
1961 Lex Davison Cooper-Climax Mallala
1960 Alec Mildren Cooper-Maserati Lowood
1959 Stan Jones Maserati Longford
1958 Lex Davison Ferrari Bathurst
1957 Lex Davison
Bill Patterson
Ferrari Caversham
1956 Stirling Moss Maserati Albert Park
1955 Jack Brabham Cooper-Bristol Port Wakefield
1954 Lex Davison HWM-Jaguar Southport
1953 Doug Whiteford Talbot-Lago Albert Park
1952 Doug Whiteford Talbot-Lago Bathurst
1951 Warwick Pratley GRS-Ford Narrogin
1950 Doug Whiteford Ford Nuriootpa
1949 John Crouch Delahaye Leyburn
1948 Frank Pratt * BMW Point Cook
1947 Bill Murray * MG Bathurst
1940 – 1946 Not Held
1939 Alan Tomlinson * MG Lobethal
1938 Peter Whitehead * ERA Bathurst
1937 + Les Murphy * MG Victor Harbor
1936 Not Held
1935 Les Murphy * MG Phillip Island
1934 Bob Lea-Wright * Singer Phillip Island
1933 Bill Thompson * Riley Phillip Island
1932 Bill Thompson * Bugatti Phillip Island
1931 Carl Junker Bugatti Phillip Island
1930 Bill Thompson Bugatti Phillip Island
1929 Arthur Terdich Bugatti Phillip Island
1928 # Arthur Waite Austin Phillip Island