MLB World Series MVP Winners

MLB World Series MVP

The MLB World Series MVP is awarded to the player voted most valuable to their team, an in turn the best player during the MLB World Series.

The MLB World Series MVP was first awarded in 1955 as the “Sport Magazine” Award, however in the present day the award is voted on by a committee of officials present at the series and sports reporters.

Pitchers have been awarded the MVP Trophy on 27 occasions, with Bobby Richardson of the New York Yankees is the only player to have been awarded the MVP on a losing team, following a 1960 World Series loss to the Pittsburgh Pirates.

David Ortiz ties game with grand slam in 2013 

MLB World Series MVP Winners

Below is a list of MLB World Series MVP Award winners, and the scores for the series.

Year MVP World Series Winner Runner-Up Series
2017 George Springer Houston Astros LA Dodgers 4-3
2016 Ben Zobrist Chicago Cubs Cleveland Indians 4-3
2015 Salvador Perez Kansas City Royals New York Mets 4-1
2014 Madison Bumgarner San Francisco Giants Kansas City Royals 4-3
2013 David Ortiz Boston Red Sox St. Louis Cardinals 4-2
2012 Pablo Sandoval San Francisco Giants Detroit Tigers 4-0
2011 David Freese St. Louis Cardinals Texas Rangers 4-3
2010 Edgar Renteria San Francisco Giants Texas Rangers 4-1
2009 Hideki Matsui New York Yankees Philadelphia Phillies 4-2
2008 Cole Hamels Philadelphia Phillies Tampa Bay Rays 4-1
2007 Mike Lowell Boston Red Sox Colorado Rockies 4-0
2006 David Eckstein St. Louis Cardinals Detroit Tigers 4-1
2005 Jermaine Dye Chicago White Sox Houston Astros 4-0
2004 Manny Ramirez Boston Red Sox St. Louis Cardinals 4-0
2003 Josh Beckett Florida Marlins New York Yankees 4-2
2002 Troy Glaus Anaheim Angels San Francisco Giants 4-3
2001 Randy Johnson
Curt Schilling
Arizona Diamondbacks New York Yankees 4-3
2000 Derek Jeter New York Yankees New York Mets 4-1
1999 Mariano Rivera New York Yankees Atlanta Braves 4-0
1998 Scott Brosius New York Yankees San Diego Padres 4-0
1997 Livan Hernandez Florida Marlins Cleveland Indians 4-3
1996 John Wetteland New York Yankees Atlanta Braves 4-2
1995 Tom Glavine Atlanta Braves Cleveland Indians 4-2
1993 Paul Molitor Toronto Blue Jays Philadelphia Phillies 4-2
1992 Pat Borders Toronto Blue Jays Atlanta Braves 4-2
1991 Jack Morris Minnesota Twins Atlanta Braves 4-3
1990 Jose Rijo Cincinnati Reds Oakland Athletics 4-0
1989 Dave Stewart Oakland Athletics San Francisco Giants 4-0
1988 Orel Hershiser Los Angeles Dodgers Oakland Athletics 4-1
1987 Frank Viola Minnesota Twins St. Louis Cardinals 4-3
1986 Ray Knight New York Mets Boston Red Sox 4-3
1985 Bret Saberhagen Kansas City Royals St. Louis Cardinals 4-3
1984 Alan Trammell Detroit Tigers San Diego Padres 4-1
1983 Rick Dempsey Baltimore Orioles Philadelphia Phillies 4-1
1982 Darrell Porter St. Louis Cardinals Milwaukee Brewers 4-3
1981 Ron Cey
Pedro Guerrero
Steve Yeager
Los Angeles Dodgers New York Yankees 4-2
1980 Mike Schmidt Philadelphia Phillies Kansas City Royals 4-2
1979 Willie Stargell Pittsburgh Pirates Baltimore Orioles 4-3
1978 Bucky Dent New York Yankees Los Angeles Dodgers 4-2
1977 Reggie Jackson New York Yankees Los Angeles Dodgers 4-2
1976 Johnny Bench Cincinnati Reds New York Yankees 4-0
1975 Pete Rose Cincinnati Reds Boston Red Sox 4-3
1974 Rollie Fingers Oakland Athletics Los Angeles Dodgers 4-1
1973 Reggie Jackson Oakland Athletics New York Mets 4-3
1972 Gene Tenace Oakland Athletics Cincinnati Reds 4-3
1971 Roberto Clemente Pittsburgh Pirates Baltimore Orioles 4-3
1970 Brooks Robinson Baltimore Orioles Cincinnati Reds 4-1
1969 Donn Clendenon New York Mets Baltimore Orioles 4-1
1968 Mickey Lolich Detroit Tigers St. Louis Cardinals 4-3
1967 Bob Gibson St. Louis Cardinals Boston Red Sox 4-3
1966 Frank Robinson Baltimore Orioles Los Angeles Dodgers 4-0
1965 Sandy Koufax Los Angeles Dodgers Minnesota Twins 4-3
1964 Bob Gibson St. Louis Cardinals New York Yankees 4-3
1963 Sandy Koufax Los Angeles Dodgers New York Yankees 4-0
1962 Ralph Terry New York Yankees San Francisco Giants 4-3
1961 Whitey Ford New York Yankees Cincinnati Reds 4-1
1960 Bobby Richardson Pittsburgh Pirates New York Yankees 4-3
1959 Larry Sherry Los Angeles Dodgers Chicago White Sox 4-2
1958 Bob Turley New York Yankees Milwaukee Braves 4-3
1957 Lew Burdette Milwaukee Braves New York Yankees 4-3
1956 Don Larsen New York Yankees Brooklyn Dodgers 4-3
1955 Johnny Podres Brooklyn Dodgers New York Yankees 4-3