AFL Rising Star Winners

AFL Rising Star

The NAB Rising Star is awarded to the best young player in the league at the end of each AFL Season.

At the end of each Round of the AFL, a Rising Star nomination is given to a player who played will in that particular Round. Players must be under 21 years old and have played less that 10 senior games prior to the start of the season.

The Rising Star Award is voted for at the end of the season by a panel of nine (usually admin and All-Australian selectors), who vote for five nominees, the panel then splits their votes between the five young candidates in  a Vote 5, 4, 3, 2, 1 style.

AFL Rising Star Winners

Below is a list of AFL Rising Star Award winners, including the clubs they were recruited from, draft pick numbers and team.

Year Winner Team Recruited
1993 Nathan Buckley Brisbane Bears 1992 Northern Territory zone selection
1994 Chris Scott Brisbane Bears 1993 national draft, pick 12
1995 Nick Holland Hawthorn 1992 national draft, pick 14
1996 Ben Cousins West Coast 1995 father–son selection
1997 Michael Wilson Port Adelaide 1997 Port Adelaide zone selection
1998 Byron Pickett North Melbourne 1996 national draft, pick 67
1999 Adam Goodes Sydney 1997 national draft, pick 43
2000 Paul Hasleby Fremantle 1999 national draft, pick 2
2001 Justin Koschitzke St Kilda 2000 national draft, pick 2
2002 Nick Riewoldt St Kilda 2000 national draft, pick 1
2003 Sam Mitchell Hawthorn 2001 national draft, pick 36
2004 Jared Rivers Melbourne 2002 national draft, pick 26
2005 Brett Deledio Richmond 2004 national draft, pick 1
2006 Danyle Pearce Port Adelaide 2005 rookie draft, pick 16
2007 Joel Selwood Geelong 2006 national draft, pick 7
2008 Rhys Palmer Fremantle 2007 national draft, pick 7
2009 Daniel Rich Brisbane Lions 2008 national draft, pick 7
2010 Dan Hannebery Sydney 2008 national draft, pick 30
2011 Dyson Heppell Essendon 2010 national draft, pick 8
2012 Daniel Talia Adelaide 2009 national draft, pick 13
2013 Jaeger O’Meara Gold Coast 2011 mini-draft, pick 1
2014 Lewis Taylor Brisbane Lions 2013 national draft, pick 28
2015 Jesse Hogan Melbourne 2012 mini-draft, pick 2
2016 Callum Mills Sydney 2015 national draft, pick 3
2017 Andrew McGrath Essendon 2016 national draft, pick 1

To bet on the AFL Rising Star award claim our Australian bonus bet offers and get started!